The Rabbit Hole – Don’t Get Sucked into it…

I recently started my own Virtual Assistant Business and thought with as much experience I had in the real world, that it would be as easy as pie. Being a VA is a totally different animal than being at the office.

I am medically homebound so being a VA is essential. What I did not know was how incredibly difficult it would be to land a good client. With all of the social media tools out there, you literally have to spread yourself across each platform, otherwise you won’t get noticed.

What I call the “Rabbit Hole” is something you definitely don’t want to go down. Having 30 tabs on your computer will not make you more efficient, it will stress you out and you won’t get anything accomplished. The main thing I have learned so far in being a VA is to concentrate on one client, or even one task, and give it all you have! Spreading yourself too thin only hurts you as well as the client. As I like think of myself as “Kimpossible” – it’s just not true. So slow down, write you list of tasks you would like to accomplish by the end of the day and start tackling them one at a time! If you aren’t able to tackle each task you have given yourself, you have too much on your plate – don’t fret, just add it to tomorrow’s list; Rinse and repeat. Eventually you will figure out how much you can / want to handle on any given day, taking in the consideration the needs of the client, the urgency and the task. Last week, I was so overwhelmed because I had bitten off much more than I could chew and felt myself slipping down the rabbit hole. High anxiety kicked in and I wound up needing to just walk away from the computer and come back in the morning with fresh eyes and  a different outlook.

I am in the process of landing a very big client who has many needs that I cannot handle. If you are interested in being a sub-contractor, I’d love to hear from you! I’m going to need help with video production, editing and splicing, among other things. Send me a message if you would like to be in my VA pool along with your resume, examples of related work and 2 English speaking references.

www.prattvirtualoffice.com

Leave a Reply

